You are here

Pilot Cities

Based on Culture 21 Actions, and building on the experiences of the 2014, 2015 and 2016 Pilot Cities programme, UCLG's Committee on Culture launched a programme entitled 'Culture in Sustainable Cities. Learning with Culture 21 Actions'. Through this program, cities become "Pilot Cities" of Agenda 21 for culture and participate in a process of learning, capacity building and connectivity, based on the principles and actions of Culture 21 Actions.

Two branches of the programme have been developed: the Global Pilot City programme and the European Pilot City programme:

Global Pilot Cities programme 

Global Pilot Cities programme

Pilot Cities in Europe programme 

Pilot Cities in Europe programme

Our Pilot Cities are

Global programme

Baie-Mahault (Guadeloupe, France)
Chignahuapan (Puebla, Mexico)
Concepción (Chile)
Córdoba (Argentina)
Cuenca (Azuay, Ecuador)
Escazú (Costa Rica)
Jinju (Republic of Korea)
Konya (Turkey)
La Paz (Bolivia)
Mérida (Yucatán, México)
Muriaé (Minas Gerais, Brazil)
Puebla (Mexico)
Santa Fe (Santa Fe, Argentina)
Sinaloa (Mexico)

European programme

Eivissa/Ibiza (Balearic Islands, Spain)
Elefsina (Greece)
Esch-sur-Alzette (Luxemburg)
Gabrovo (Bulgaria)
Galway (Ireland)
Izmir (Turkey)
Leeds (England, United Kingdom)
Madrid (Madrid, Spain)
Namur (Wallonia, Belgium)
Nova Gorica (Slovenia)
Rijeka (Croatia)
Swansea (Wales, United Kingdom)
Tenerife (Canary Islands, Spain)
Terrassa (Catalonia, Spain)
Timişoara (Romania)

The European programme is run in cooperation with Culture Action Europe and in collaboration with the CEMR.